Is Fish Meat

What is Fish Meat?

Fish are members of the bony fishes family (Chondrichthyes) which includes sharks, rays, skates, marlins and other varieties. They have many similarities with humans such as teeth and gills. However, they differ from us in several ways:

They do not breathe air like humans. Instead they breathe water and their lungs are located on the underside of their bodies. Their hearts beat very slowly compared to ours.

Their skin is tough and flexible unlike ours. They have no hair or feathers but rather scales covering most of their body except for the tips of fingers and toes. Most species grow claws instead of fingernails, to help them grasp objects underwater.

The bones in their skeleton are different than ours. They lack ribs and vertebrae. Some species have only one rib, others have none at all.

Others have numerous bones, some with multiple joints and some without any joints at all.

Some species’ skeletons contain cartilage, while others don’t. Due to the differences in their skeletons, most fish can’t walk or even crawl on land, but must move about by swimming. Many species must be born in water and can never survive out of it.

The internal organs of fishes are also different than ours. Their livers, for example, have three lobes. Fishes’ heart consists of two chambers only.

They have a stomach but lack other organs such as intestines. They excrete waste through few cysterns on their skin.

Two main types of fish are known to exist: marine and freshwater. Marine fishes live in oceans and seas. Freshwater fishes live in lakes, rivers, streams and other water bodies that have a relatively low salinity.

Some fish can live in both saltwater and freshwater. These are known as brackish water fishes.

Many types of fishes are caught and used for food. There are some fishes that are not edible for humans such as the electric eel, the venomous lionfish and the sharp spines of some species. Some other species that are edible cause health complications when eaten such as the canned light tuna which can cause serious digestive problems when consumed in large quantities.

What is fish meat?

Fish meat is the flesh of fishes used as food. The types of fish used as food are divided into shellfish and non-shellfish. The former have shells such as clams, mussels and oysters while the latter consist of almost all other marine and freshwater species. Most shellfish can only be eaten after removing certain parts of their bodies such as shells, heads and tails.

Most fishes are cold-blooded meaning that their body temperatures match the water in which they live. They must maintain their body temperatures to survive even when the water is too cold otherwise they would go into a state of hibernation until the water becomes warmer. Despite this, some fishes such as tuna and swordfish have a higher level of heat than the water in which they swim in.

Most fishes do not have separate openings for excreting wastes and for digestion. They release their waste directly into the water. This process is known as expelling or eliminating.

Human beings and other mammals void wastes separately through different orifices such as the mouth and the rectum.

Fishes’ food can either be crunched, masticated, or digested. Crunched food is consumed whole and has no bones such as plankton, small fishes and shrimps. The latter, masticated food has to be chewed before swallowing.

Examples of these are crabs, mussels, clams and certain types of fishes.

Fishes do not chew their food because they do not have proper teeth (with the exception of a few species such as parrotfish that grinds corals on its jaws). They have to swallow food whole after crunched or masticated.

What is the difference between a fish and a fish?

A fish is a cold-blooded aquatic vertebrate with a backbone and paired appendages, or limbs, either lacking or reduced in size. Fish are found in both salt water and fresh water. The term “fish” usually refers to naturally water dwelling species but sometimes it also refers to other aquatic animals such as marine mammals and aquatic birds. Most fishes are able to swim which is known as finning.

A fish is divided into the following subgroups:

– Cartilaginous fishes which have skeletons made of cartilage rather than bone. They include sharks, stingrays, and chimaeras.

– Bony fishes (Osteichthyes) which are the largest group of fish.

Sources & references used in this article:

Fish, meat, and risk of dementia: cohort study by P Barberger-Gateau, L Letenneur, V Deschamps… – Bmj, 2002 –

Comparative study of trace elements in certain fish, meat and meat products by D Demirezen, K Uruç – Meat science, 2006 – Elsevier

Heavy metals in marine fish meat and consumer health: a review by AC Bosch, B O’Neill, GO Sigge… – Journal of the …, 2016 – Wiley Online Library

Production of organic acids and amino acids from fish meat by sub‐critical water hydrolysis by H Yoshida, M Terashima… – Biotechnology progress, 1999 – Wiley Online Library

… and characterisation of headspace volatiles of fish miso, a Japanese fish meat based fermented paste, with special emphasis on effect of fish species and meat … by A Giri, K Osako, T Ohshima – Food Chemistry, 2010 – Elsevier

Antioxidant activity of green tea and its catechins in a fish meat model system by Y He, F Shahidi – Journal of Agricultural and Food Chemistry, 1997 – ACS Publications