Is Wine Gluten-Free

Is Wine Gluten-Free?

The question of whether or not wine is gluten-free is one of the most debated topics in the world of food. There are many opinions on this topic. Some believe that it’s safe to drink, while others say it’s dangerous and shouldn’t even be consumed at all! The truth is, there isn’t any conclusive proof that proves either way.

There have been several studies conducted on the subject, but they’ve all come up with conflicting results. What makes things worse is that these studies were done decades ago when some of the ingredients used to make wine weren’t exactly what they are today.

So, it’s hard to tell if something was actually tested back then or not.

In fact, there aren’t too many tests being performed on wines anymore since so much has changed in terms of how grapes are grown and processed nowadays. For example, modern grape juice is made from concentrate rather than whole grapes.

Concentrate doesn’t contain the fiber that the fruit does. Also, modern winemaking techniques use additives like sulfites and other preservatives to prevent spoilage. These chemicals may affect the taste of wine as well as its ability to keep your body hydrated during long periods of time (which is why wine has become very popular among those suffering from dehydration).

So, which is it? Is wine gluten-free or not?

Nobody can be sure.

Is Wine Gluten Free?

Celiac Disease

The real problem is people have been diagnosed with celiac disease and other similar conditions. For those that have a gluten allergy or an autoimmune disorder, just drinking a few drops of wine could put your life in danger.

There are some people out there who don’t believe that wine should be off limits just because they have an intolerance to gluten. They argue that trace amounts of the material shouldn’t affect those with celiac or a gluten allergy and that the alcohol in wine acts as a preservative and kills off any trace amounts that may be present.

This is actually true since alcohol can prevent bacteria and mold from growing in wine, but it can’t do anything for the gluten itself.

Most people who have a real problem with gluten should still avoid drinking wine simply because the facts just aren’t clear on whether or not it’s harmful. If you really want to be on the safe side, then it’s probably best to avoid drinking wine altogether.

There are also many who suffer from other food allergies or dietary restrictions that may want to drink wine from time to time, but can’t due to their condition. Luckily, there are some wineries that have started making “gluten free” wines to accommodate all of those who suffer from these conditions and want to expand their alcohol horizons.

If you’re interested in trying out one of these wines, then you may want to start with the following brands. They each have their own unique flavor and style so you’re sure to find something that you’ll enjoy!

Cupcake Vineyards: This winery makes a dessert wine that’s sweet enough to be comparable to drinking a cupcake (at least that’s what they advertise). They also produce a port, a moscato, and a few other reds and whites.

They’re most known for their dessert wines, though.

Gluten Free Port: For those who would rather have a glass of port than a mug of beer, there are plenty of options. Not only does Gluten Free Port make a good quality tawny port, but they also make a ruby and a white port that are also gluten free.

Gluten Free Vodka: If you’d rather have something a little harder, then you’re in luck. Not only is it easy to find vodka on store shelves these days, but there are also plenty of brands that cater to those with dietary restrictions.

Some of the best ones come from distilled gluten grains like corn and potatoes. Some of these include Blue Ice, The Organic Spirits, and Clear Creek. There are also some that use grapes as a base like Korbel and Cupcake Vineyards (mentioned above).

There are plenty of other options out there for people with dietary restrictions. You just need to know where to look.

Hopefully, this list will help you get started.

Sources & references used in this article:

Effects of particle size distributions of rice flour on the quality of gluten-free rice cupcakes by JM Kim, M Shin – LWT-Food Science and Technology, 2014 – Elsevier

Economic burden of a gluten‐free diet by AR Lee, DL Ng, J Zivin… – Journal of human Nutrition …, 2007 – Wiley Online Library

The gluten-free frenzy: Fad or fitting? by L Johanson – Medsurg Nursing, 2015 – search.ebscohost.com

The gluten-free diet: safety and nutritional quality by L Saturni, G Ferretti, T Bacchetti – Nutrients, 2010 – mdpi.com